Which Computers to Buy for a Dental Office (2026): New vs Refurbished
An owner on a dentists' forum asked in October 2024 whether it was "feasible to buy a PC and get it running" as a Dentrix workstation. In October 2026 another owner posted a five-figure quote for new computers and a server. Both wanted the same answer: what should a dental office buy, and what is padding?
This guide turns that answer into a shopping list. It takes every number from the current requirement documents of Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental and Planmeca Romexis and from Microsoft's own Windows 11 pages, all read on 6 November 2026, and arranges them by room rather than by brand. Then it settles the refurbished question fairly, explains what an IT provider does between the box arriving and the first patient, and lists what a computer quote should show so you can read it line by line.
Buy business-class desktops with Windows 11 Pro, a processor at or above your practice software's named minimum, 16 GB of memory, an SSD and a wired gigabit port. Specify operatory, front-desk and imaging computers separately, because sensors, 3D viewers and card terminals need different ports and graphics. Refurbished units are fine for admin roles when they pass three checks.
- Buy by room: front desk, operatory, imaging/3D and doctor's office need different ports, graphics and memory even when they run the same practice software.
- Dentrix 2026 names a 9th-generation Core i5 and 20 GB free on SSD/NVMe; Eaglesoft Rev 040 names an 8th-generation Core i5, Windows 11 Professional and six powered USB 2.0 ports; Open Dental's August 2026 PDF suggests a quad-core, 8 GB and 500 GB for a new build.
- Refurbished business desktops fit admin roles when they pass three checks (processor generation vs the vendor minimum, TPM 2.0 with UEFI Secure Boot, Windows 11 Pro); they do not fit the operatory sensor PC, the imaging workstation or the server.
- Order Windows 11 Pro everywhere: Eaglesoft does not support Home, Dentrix says Home blocks domain installations, Open Dental calls Home sometimes unacceptable, and Microsoft lists BitLocker for Pro and up.
- Every clinical PC is wired to gigabit Ethernet; Dentrix says wireless is at your own risk near X-ray equipment.
- A computer is not an operatory computer until it is staged: firmware, Windows version, domain join, BitLocker, drivers, imaging bridge and a real sensor capture in the room.
In this guide
- Which computers should a dental office buy? The decision table by room
- What do Dentrix, Eaglesoft and Open Dental require from a workstation in 2026?
- Operatory computer vs front-desk computer: what actually differs?
- New vs refurbished dental office computers: when does each make sense?
- Desktop, small form factor, mini PC, all-in-one or laptop: which fits each room?
- Which specs matter most on a dental office computer, and which are padding?
- Windows 11 Pro or Home: which edition do dental computers need?
- How long should dental office computers last, and when do you replace them?
- What should a computer quote for a dental office list?
- The IT side: from the box arriving to a working operatory
- What to ask your IT provider before you order computers
- How Legend Networking can help
- Frequently asked questions
- The bottom line
Which computers should a dental office buy? The decision table by room
A dental office needs three or four different computers, not one model everywhere. Front-desk machines run the practice software, payer portals and a card terminal. Operatory machines add a sensor, a camera and a clinical display. An imaging or 3D workstation adds a graphics card and more memory. Buy each room to the strictest requirement of the software it runs.
| Room or role | Processor | Memory | Storage | Graphics | Ports and network | Display | Why these lines |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Front desk and billing | Current-generation Intel Core i5 or AMD Ryzen 5, four or more cores | 16 GB | 256 GB SSD or larger | Integrated | Wired gigabit Ethernet; USB for scanner, label printer, signature pad, card terminal | Two monitors, 1080p, 24 inch or larger | Dentrix recommends 16 GB and an SSD; Open Dental's "Suggested New" column lists a quad-core, 8 GB, 500 GB and 1000 Mbps |
| Operatory (sensor and intraoral camera) | Intel Core i5 9th generation or newer, or Ryzen 2600 or newer, four cores at 2.4 GHz | 16 GB | 256 GB SSD or larger | Integrated is enough for 2D imaging | Wired gigabit Ethernet; at least six USB ports, several of them USB 2.0 or USB 2.0-capable, on an Intel chipset; no Wi-Fi for the sensor PC | 1080p clinical monitor, 24 to 27 inch, mounted | Dentrix's named CPU minimum; Eaglesoft asks for six powered USB 2.0 ports and an Intel USB chipset for Schick sensors |
| Imaging acquisition or 3D viewing (CBCT, scanner) | Intel Core i7 desktop class, current generation | 16 to 32 GB, by your imaging vendor's table | 512 GB SSD or larger | Dedicated NVIDIA or AMD card, 4 GB or more of video memory | Wired gigabit Ethernet; the ports your sensor and scanner documents list | Full HD 1920x1080 or better, color-accurate | Planmeca lists 16 GB for most 3D units, 32 GB for the largest, and a dedicated GPU |
| Doctor's private office and consult room | Current-generation Core i5 or Ryzen 5 | 16 GB | 256 GB SSD | Integrated, unless the doctor reviews 3D volumes here | Wired gigabit Ethernet | Large 1080p or 1440p screen for case presentation | Same practice software as the front desk, plus a viewer |
| Check-in tablet or kiosk | Whatever your practice software supports for its check-in app | 8 GB | 128 GB | Integrated | Wi-Fi is acceptable here | 11 to 13 inch | Eaglesoft supports tablets only for Fast Check-In; Open Dental allows tablets running full Windows |
| The server | Not a workstation purchase: see the server guides linked below | Dentrix and Eaglesoft publish separate server requirements; Eaglesoft's lists 16 GB and RAID |
The vendor lines behind each cell are quoted in the next section. Where a cell goes beyond a vendor minimum (16 GB at the front desk, an i7 for 3D), that is our recommendation from practice, and the reason is given in the specs section further down. For the server itself, start with our guide to dental server replacement vs cloud migration, and if your server is still on Windows Server 2016, the Windows Server 2016 end-of-support plan for dental offices sets the January 2027 date out in full.
What do Dentrix, Eaglesoft and Open Dental require from a workstation in 2026?
The three main practice systems publish different minimums, and the gap between them is the first thing to understand before reading a quote. Dentrix names a 9th-generation Core i5 and 20 GB of free SSD space; Eaglesoft names an 8th-generation Core i5, Windows 11 Professional and six USB 2.0 ports; Open Dental suggests a quad-core with 8 GB.
| Requirement line | Dentrix (System Requirements 2026, April 2026) | Eaglesoft (Rev 040, 11 August 2026) | Open Dental (requirements page and PDF, August 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Windows | Windows 10 and 11, 64-bit; "After June 30, 2026, Henry Schein One will no longer support installing Dentrix on Windows 10" | Windows 11 Professional, Eaglesoft 23.00.02 and higher, on a Microsoft-supported CPU with TPM 2.0 | Windows 11; Windows 10 support suspended 14 October 2025; "If you are purchasing new equipment, we recommend the newest version of the Windows operating system" |
| Windows edition | Home allowed, but "Home does not allow domain installations, which limits your network security options" | "Eaglesoft is not supported with any version of Windows Home" | "Home editions of Windows are sometimes unacceptable because of connection and networking limits. The best editions are Pro, Business, or Ultimate" |
| Processor | "4 or more cores at 2.4 GHz; 9th gen Intel Core i5 9400 or AMD Ryzen 2600" | "Intel Core i5 Processor (8th Generation or Higher)" | "The newer and faster, the better"; PDF: 1 GHz absolute minimum, dual core typical, quad core suggested new |
| Memory | "Minimum - 8 GB", "Recommended - 16 GB" | "8 GB RAM" | "4 - 8 GB is recommended"; PDF: 4 GB absolute minimum, 8 GB typical and suggested new |
| Storage | "20 GB free space on SSD/NVMe" | "120 GB Hard 500 GB recommended if workstation will support other functions" | PDF: 50 GB free absolute minimum, 200 GB typical, 500 GB suggested new; "SSD or NVMe hard drives are recommended, but not required" |
| Network | "1 Gbps"; "Wireless networks are to be used at your own risk due to potential interference from X-ray machines and other devices" | "Gigabit Ethernet Adapter" | PDF: 100 Mbps absolute minimum, 1000 Mbps typical and suggested new |
| Ports | Not specified for workstations | "Intel USB Chip set with at least 6 powered USB 2.0 Ports"; "Intel USB Chip sets are recommended for Schick digital x-ray devices"; a DVD drive "Maybe needed for drivers, integrations, and software that does not have an available download" | Not specified |
| Display | "1280x1024" minimum | Not specified for workstations | "Minimum resolution for Open Dental is 1280x768"; "We recommend 27" 1080p LCD monitors"; PDF suggested new: 20 to 28 inch 1080p |
| Graphics | Not specified | Not specified | PDF: integrated at minimum, "Any discreet card" suggested new |
| Laptops, tablets, thin clients | "Thin client setups, such as Terminal Services and Citrix, are currently not supported and should not be used with Dentrix" | "Tablets are not supported for other Eaglesoft use or image acquisition"; "It is not supported to take images from Surface Pro" | "Laptops or tablet computers that run a full version of Windows and meet the other necessary requirements can be used with Open Dental" |
| Virtual machines | "Dentrix has been successfully tested on properly configured Hyper-V and VMWare virtual machines" | "The use of a virtual machine to run any Patterson Companies software is not supported" | Supported, with dedicated drives and core pinning advised |
Two cautions sit in the documents themselves. Henry Schein One opens its sheet with the line "Requirements can vary significantly depending on workload and other software being used", so its numbers are a floor for Dentrix alone. Open Dental's PDF says "Workstations can vary significantly depending on age, budget, workload, and use of other software such as imaging." Both vendors are saying the same thing: the minimum describes the practice software alone, and your operatory PC never runs the practice software alone.
The full server tables, the Windows upgrade sequence and the bridge inventory are in our guide to dental software system requirements for 2026. This page stays on the computers you buy.
Operatory computer vs front-desk computer: what actually differs?
Both run the same practice software, so the processor and memory can match. Everything else differs. The operatory PC carries a sensor, a camera and sometimes a scanner on USB, drives a mounted clinical monitor, must stay wired, and is used by whoever is in the room. The front-desk PC carries its own peripherals and a card terminal.
| What differs | Operatory computer | Front-desk computer |
|---|---|---|
| USB | Six or more ports, several USB 2.0-capable, on an Intel chipset; a powered hub is a last resort, not a plan | Four to six ports for scanner, label printer, signature pad, card terminal and a headset |
| Network | Wired gigabit only; Dentrix tells you wireless is at your own risk near X-ray equipment | Wired gigabit; Wi-Fi only for the check-in tablet |
| Graphics and display | One mounted 1080p clinical monitor, often a second for the patient; integrated graphics for 2D, a dedicated card where the imaging vendor says so | Two 24-inch 1080p monitors for schedule plus chart; integrated graphics |
| Form factor | Small form factor or mini PC mounted behind the monitor or in the cabinet, out of the splash zone | Small form factor tower under the desk, or a small-form-factor unit with a monitor arm |
| Sign-in | Shared room, so per-user sign-in with fast switching matters | One or two named users |
| Drivers and bridges | Sensor driver, camera driver, imaging bridge to the practice software; every one of these is version-specific | Scanner, printer and card-terminal drivers; payer-portal browser plug-ins |
| Who notices failure first | The clinician mid-exam | The patient at the counter |
The imaging or 3D workstation is a third category
A CBCT acquisition PC, a 3D viewing station or an intraoral scanner cart has its own requirement document from the imaging vendor, and it usually exceeds the practice software's. Planmeca's current Romexis page lists a 2D client at an Intel Core i3 (6th generation) with 4 GB, but a 3D client at an Intel Core i5 (6th generation) with an i7 desktop recommended, 8 GB for the smallest ProMax 3D units, 16 GB for the Plus, Mid, Max and Viso G1 and G3, and 32 GB for the Viso G5 and G7, with a dedicated NVIDIA or AMD GPU and a Full HD 1920x1080 monitor. Its CAD/CAM recommendation goes further: a 13th-generation or newer Core i7, 32 GB, a 512 GB SSD and an NVIDIA RTX card with 12 GB. Buy the imaging PC from the imaging vendor's table, not the practice software's. Our sibling guide covers CBCT computer and network requirements; the platform comparison is in dental imaging software compared from the IT side.
The doctor's private office and the consult room
These run the practice software plus an image viewer and often a treatment-presentation tool. The spec can match the front desk, with a larger screen. If the doctor reads 3D volumes at this desk, it becomes an imaging workstation and should be bought as one.
New vs refurbished dental office computers: when does each make sense?
Refurbished business desktops can be a sound buy for the front desk, the billing office and the consult room, provided each unit passes three checks on the listing. They are a poor buy for the operatory sensor PC, the imaging workstation and anything that must last five years: most fail the generation test and the warranty is short.
| Consideration | New business-class desktop | Refurbished business-class desktop |
|---|---|---|
| Processor generation | Current; clears Dentrix's 9th-generation and Eaglesoft's 8th-generation minimums with years to spare | Often 6th to 8th generation; many listings fail Dentrix's named minimum on day one |
| Windows 11 eligibility | Built in: TPM 2.0, UEFI Secure Boot, supported CPU | Must be checked per unit; Microsoft requires TPM 2.0, UEFI Secure Boot and a compatible 64-bit processor |
| Windows edition | Configurable; order Pro | Frequently shipped with Home or an older Windows; Eaglesoft does not support Home at all |
| Warranty | Multi-year, with on-site options from the manufacturer | Shorter and often labor-only; get the term in writing from the seller before you buy |
| Drive | New SSD | Unknown hours; a used drive is the part most likely to fail first |
| Ports and chipset | Current USB layout | Older boards frequently have the USB 2.0 ports the sensor vendors ask for, which is a genuine plus |
| Supply | Any quantity, identical | Matching six identical units is luck |
| Lifespan you should plan for | Five years in an operatory | Two to three years in an admin role |
| Fits | Operatory, imaging, doctor's office, anything bought in sets | Front desk overflow, billing, consult room, a spare for swaps |
In the October 2026 forum thread, one reply put the owners' suspicion bluntly: "the hardware markup alone on those quotes is always laughable." Buying refurbished is one way owners push back, and for admin PCs it can be the right call. In the operatory it is a risk, because that computer sits between the sensor and the diagnosis.
The three-check test for any refurbished listing
- Processor generation against the vendor's named minimum. Dentrix 2026 names a "9th gen Intel Core i5 9400 or AMD Ryzen 2600" for workstations; Eaglesoft names an "Intel Core i5 Processor (8th Generation or Higher)". The generation is the first digit or two after the dash in the model number: an i5-8500 is 8th generation, an i5-6500 is 6th. A listing that does not state the exact model number has failed the test already.
- TPM 2.0 and UEFI Secure Boot. Microsoft's Windows 11 requirements call for a "Trusted Platform Module (TPM) version 2.0" and firmware that is "UEFI, Secure Boot capable". Without TPM 2.0 the unit cannot run a supported Windows 11 install, and it cannot give you BitLocker's full protection either.
- Windows 11 Pro licence, installed and activated. Eaglesoft requires Windows 11 Professional. Dentrix allows Home but notes it "does not allow domain installations". Microsoft's BitLocker documentation lists Pro, Enterprise and Education editions as the ones that support BitLocker enablement, and Home is not among them. A unit sold with Home needs an edition upgrade that costs money and time.
Where refurbished fits, and where it does not
Refurbished fits a front-desk overflow station, a billing office PC, a consult-room PC, a spare kept on the shelf for same-day swaps, and a startup's temporary admin machines. It does not fit the operatory sensor PC, the imaging acquisition or 3D workstation, the server, or any set of six or more identical machines you want to manage as one build. A middle path exists: buy the clinical machines new and in sets, and let the admin roles absorb the refurbished units as they come.
Desktop, small form factor, mini PC, all-in-one or laptop: which fits each room?
Small form factor desktops and mini PCs fit most dental rooms best, because they mount behind the monitor or inside the cabinet, run on wired Ethernet, and still take the USB layout sensors need. Towers belong in the server closet or the imaging room. Laptops suit the doctor who moves between offices. Tablets are for check-in only.
| Form factor | Best for | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|
| Small form factor (SFF) desktop | Front desk, billing, operatory cabinets with space | Check the USB count on the rear panel, not the marketing page |
| Mini or micro PC (VESA-mounted) | Operatories where the cabinet is full; consult rooms | Fewer USB ports and usually no slot for a graphics card; confirm it has the USB 2.0-capable ports your sensor vendor lists; heat in a closed cabinet |
| Tower | Imaging acquisition, 3D viewing, anything with a dedicated graphics card | Floor space and dust in operatories |
| All-in-one | Reception counter, consult room | Monitor and computer age together; when the screen fails the PC goes with it; limited ports |
| Laptop | The owner who works from two locations; a hygienist's mobile charting cart | Dentrix does not support thin-client setups and Eaglesoft does not support tablets for images, but a laptop running full Windows 11 Pro is a workstation to all three vendors; dock it to wired Ethernet when it is in the room |
| Windows tablet | Fast Check-In (Eaglesoft lists tested Surface Pro models) and Open Dental kiosks | Eaglesoft: "It is not supported to take images from Surface Pro"; the attached keyboard is required for some areas |
A note on thin clients and virtual desktops, which some quotes propose to cut hardware cost: Dentrix's document says they are "currently not supported and should not be used with Dentrix", and Patterson does not support any virtual machine for its software. Open Dental allows virtual machines with dedicated drives. If your software is Dentrix or Eaglesoft, every operatory gets a real PC.
Which specs matter most on a dental office computer, and which are padding?
Four lines decide whether a dental computer works for five years: the processor generation, 16 GB of memory, an SSD, and the right ports on a wired gigabit connection. Graphics matter only on imaging workstations. Much of the rest in a long quote is either required by Windows 11 anyway or has no effect on the practice software.
Processor
The generation matters more than the model tier. Dentrix names a 9th-generation i5 9400 or a Ryzen 2600 with four cores at 2.4 GHz; Eaglesoft names an 8th-generation i5. A current-generation Core i5 or Ryzen 5 clears both and is the right default for every room except imaging, where an i7 desktop processor is what Planmeca recommends for 3D clients. A Core i9 at the front desk is padding.
Memory
Buy 16 GB everywhere except the check-in tablet. Dentrix recommends 16 GB; Eaglesoft and Open Dental list 8 GB as a workstation figure; Planmeca lists 16 GB for most 3D units and 32 GB for the largest. The reason to exceed the practice-software minimum is that no operatory PC runs one program: the practice software, the imaging software, a browser full of payer portals and a security agent all sit in memory together. Imaging workstations take the imaging vendor's figure, which may be 32 GB.
Storage
An SSD is not optional: the Dentrix sheet puts its "20 GB free space on SSD/NVMe", and Open Dental's page adds that solid-state drives are recommended though not required. Capacity is less important than people think on a workstation, because the images live on the server: 256 GB covers Windows, the practice software, the imaging client and local caches. Eaglesoft's "500 GB recommended if workstation will support other functions" is the figure to use for a PC that also stores local scans or photos. The imaging acquisition PC follows its vendor's table.
Graphics
Integrated graphics are enough for 2D radiographs and the practice software on any current-generation processor; Open Dental's own PDF lists "Any discreet card" only as a suggested-new nicety. A dedicated card becomes a requirement when the imaging vendor says so: Planmeca asks for a dedicated NVIDIA or AMD GPU for 3D clients, a 4 GB NVIDIA GPU for Romexis Smart and a 12 GB NVIDIA RTX card for its CAD/CAM workstation. Put the graphics budget on the imaging PC, not across the office.
Ports
Ports are where refurbished and mini PCs most often fail an operatory. Eaglesoft asks for "at least 6 powered USB 2.0 Ports" on an Intel chipset and recommends Intel USB chipsets for Schick sensors. Count the rear ports on the exact model, add the mouse, keyboard, sensor, camera, signature pad and (in some rooms) scanner, and leave two spare. A sensor on an unpowered hub is a service call waiting to happen.
Network
Every clinical PC is wired to a gigabit switch port. Dentrix's requirement is 1 Gbps and its note on wireless is blunt: at your own risk due to potential interference from X-ray machines and other devices. The same sheet says to disable power management on the network card so a PC left idle does not drop its connection. If an operatory has no cable, the fix is a cable, and our guide on dental office Wi-Fi that keeps dropping explains why.
Display
Vendor minimums are low (Dentrix 1280x1024, Open Dental 1280x768), so the display decision is clinical, not technical. Open Dental recommends 27-inch 1080p monitors; Planmeca asks for Full HD on 3D clients. Two 24-inch 1080p screens at the front desk, one 24 to 27-inch mounted monitor per operatory, and a color-accurate Full HD or better panel on the imaging workstation is a sound standard. A 4K panel on a 24-inch screen makes the practice software's text small without helping a bitewing.
Firmware, TPM and Secure Boot
Any new business PC meets Windows 11's requirements: a compatible 64-bit processor with two or more cores, 4 GB, 64 GB of storage, UEFI with Secure Boot and TPM 2.0. Those are Microsoft's floor for the operating system, not a dental spec, but they are the lines a refurbished unit fails. TPM 2.0 is also what BitLocker uses to protect the drive, which is why your IT provider should turn it on and back up the recovery key before the machine leaves staging.
Power and energy
Open Dental calls a UPS "optional but recommended" and Patterson recommends battery backups for all servers; a small UPS on the imaging acquisition PC is worth having as well, because a capture interrupted by a power blip is a retake. For the rest, computers carrying the ENERGY STAR label use about 30 to 40 percent less energy than standard models, according to the program's own page, which adds up across a dozen machines running six days a week.
Windows 11 Pro or Home: which edition do dental computers need?
Order Windows 11 Pro on every dental office computer. Eaglesoft does not support any Windows Home edition. Dentrix allows Home but states that it blocks domain installations and limits your security options. Open Dental calls Home editions sometimes unacceptable because of connection limits. BitLocker drive encryption is listed by Microsoft for Pro, Enterprise and Education, not Home.
| Line | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Eaglesoft | "Eaglesoft is not supported with any version of Windows Home"; the workstation operating system line is Windows 11 Professional, "ESV23.00.02 and higher" | Patterson Rev 040, August 2026 |
| Dentrix | "While Microsoft Windows Home is supported, Home does not allow domain installations, which limits your network security options" | Henry Schein One, April 2026 |
| Open Dental | "Home editions of Windows are sometimes unacceptable because of connection and networking limits. The best editions are Pro, Business, or Ultimate" | Open Dental requirements page |
| BitLocker | Editions that support BitLocker enablement: Windows Pro, Enterprise, Pro Education/SE, Education; "BitLocker provides maximum protection when used with a Trusted Platform Module (TPM)" | Microsoft Learn |
| Windows 10 | Support ended 14 October 2025; Dentrix stopped supporting new Windows 10 installs after 30 June 2026; Open Dental suspended Windows 10 support on 14 October 2025 | Microsoft lifecycle; vendor documents |
Pro is also what lets the IT provider join the machine to a domain or to Microsoft Entra, apply one policy to every PC, and give each team member their own sign-in on a shared operatory computer. If a quote lists Windows 11 Home to shave a few dollars per unit, that line is the false economy on the page. For machines already in the building on Windows 10, our guide answers whether Windows 10 is still OK in a dental office and what the exit order should be.
How long should dental office computers last, and when do you replace them?
Plan on five years for a new business-class desktop bought at or above the vendor minimums, and replace by role rather than all at once. The trigger is rarely a failure. It is a vendor document that moves its minimum above your processor generation, a Windows version leaving support, or an imaging upgrade that needs a graphics card.
| Date to plan around | What it means for workstations | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 14 October 2025 | Windows 10 Home and Pro left Microsoft support; Open Dental suspended Windows 10 the same day | Microsoft lifecycle; Open Dental |
| 30 June 2026 | Henry Schein One stopped supporting new Dentrix installs on Windows 10 | Dentrix System Requirements 2026 |
| 13 October 2026 | Windows 11 version 24H2 (Home and Pro) left support; PCs move to 25H2 after your vendors list it | Microsoft lifecycle |
| 12 January 2027 | Windows Server 2016 end of support: the server, not a workstation, but every workstation is re-pointed when the server changes | Microsoft lifecycle |
| 12 October 2027 | Windows 11 version 25H2 (Home and Pro) end of support | Microsoft lifecycle |
Microsoft's lifecycle pages show these dates as the following morning in Pacific time; the dates above are the last US calendar day of support.
A replace-or-repair rule that fits a dental office
Repair a PC under three years old if the failed part is a drive, a power supply or memory, because the rest of the machine still clears the vendor minimums. Replace a PC that fails the three-check test above, that cannot take the imaging vendor's current client, or that is older than the processor generation your practice software names. Repairing a 6th-generation machine for an Eaglesoft operatory spends money on a computer the vendor already excludes.
Buying in the right year
Two timing points come up every autumn. If the server is on Windows Server 2016, the workstation refresh and the server project should be one calendar, because the server move re-points every PC anyway. And if the purchase is meant to count for this tax year, the date the machines are placed in service matters, not only the order date; your CPA decides what applies to you.
What should a computer quote for a dental office list?
A readable quote lists hardware, software licences, peripherals and the installation work as separate lines, each tied to a room, so you can see what is being bought and what is being done. At Legend Networking, hardware procurement, major cabling projects and software licensing are quoted separately, and a quote that blends them hides what you are comparing.
- Hardware by room: model, exact processor, memory, storage, graphics, port count, and the Windows edition for every unit, grouped as front desk, operatory, imaging, admin.
- Monitors, mounts and arms: size and resolution per room; the operatory monitor mount is its own line.
- Peripherals that touch the PC: signature pads, scanners, label printers, card terminals, headsets, and whether each is new or carried over.
- Software licences: Windows 11 Pro where the unit does not ship with it, the security agent per device, and any imaging client or bridge licence the imaging vendor charges for.
- Imaging and sensor work: sensor and camera driver installation and calibration per operatory, and the imaging bridge to the practice software.
- Data and profile migration: what moves from each old PC, how the old drives are wiped, and whether disposal is included.
- Staging and installation: hours per machine and per room, after-hours work, and the acceptance test performed in each operatory.
- Warranty and support: the manufacturer's warranty term per unit, who holds the claim, and what the monthly support agreement covers afterwards.
The five-figure forum quote above may have been fair or padded; without these lines nobody can tell. For a new office, the same lines sit inside the larger technology plan, and our guide to dental startup IT shows where computers fall in the opening sequence.
The IT side: from the box arriving to a working operatory
A new computer is not an operatory computer until it has been staged, which means built and tested off-site or in a back room, then installed around the schedule. The steps below are what an IT provider should do to every unit; the operatory steps are the ones a quote most often leaves implicit.
- Unbox, update the firmware and confirm the spec. The exact processor, memory and drive are checked against the order, and the BIOS is set to UEFI with Secure Boot and TPM 2.0 enabled.
- Install or confirm Windows 11 Pro and bring it to the version your vendors support. A feature update is a new platform to your dental vendors, so the version is matched to what Dentrix, Eaglesoft or Open Dental and the imaging software list today.
- Remove the preloaded consumer software. Trial antivirus, games and promotional apps compete for memory and generate pop-ups on a clinical screen.
- Name the machine for its room and join it to the domain or Microsoft Entra. Op 3 should be called Op 3. Each team member gets a personal sign-in; shared room passwords are the habit to break.
- Turn on BitLocker and back up the recovery key. Microsoft's documentation ties BitLocker's full protection to the TPM; the recovery key goes to the directory, not to a sticky note.
- Install the security agent and set the vendor's exclusions. Henry Schein One recommends antivirus on all computers and defers the Dentrix exclusion details to its resource center; the exclusions are a deliberate risk decision, not a default. Device protection beyond antivirus is part of dental cybersecurity services.
- Install the practice software client and point it at the server. Then open a test patient in every module, including the ledger and the document center.
- Install the sensor, camera and scanner drivers in the vendor's order, then the imaging bridge. Take a test capture with the real sensor in the real room; this step is the reason the operatory PC is staged last and tested longest.
- Set the network card so it never powers down, and cable the port. Dentrix's sheet asks for power management off on the network interface to avoid disconnect messages on idle PCs.
- Set printers with the right drivers. Henry Schein One recommends PCL5 drivers with all printing equipment for Dentrix; label printers get their own test print from the practice software.
- Install the monitoring agent and the backup check. The workstation is monitored for disk health and update status; the data it writes lives on the server, whose dental data backup is tested separately.
- Migrate the user's profile and favorites, then wipe and document the old drive. The old PC leaves the building with its drive erased or destroyed and a record kept.
Do this to one machine per role first, run it for a few days, then roll the rest. When every operatory PC is the same model with the same driver set, one good pilot tells you about all of them. Our guide to what to do when a dental sensor stops working after a Windows update covers the failure this pilot prevents.
What to ask your IT provider before you order computers
About the list
- Which document and revision did you use for each vendor's minimum, and can we see the lines you quoted?
- Which rooms get which model, and why is the operatory spec different from the front desk?
- Are any of these units refurbished, and if so, which generation, which Windows edition and what warranty term in writing?
About the install
- What is done to each PC before it reaches the operatory, and which of those steps are in the quote?
- Will a real sensor capture be tested in every operatory before the old PC is removed?
- How will you handle the pilot and the rollout so no clinic day is lost?
About what comes after
- Who holds the manufacturer warranty claim, and what happens on the day an operatory PC fails?
- How are the old drives wiped or destroyed, and will we receive a record?
- Which of these computers will need replacing first, and when will you tell us?
How Legend Networking can help
Legend Networking is a Dallas-based dental IT company with 22+ years in dental IT, and has served over 3,500 practices since 2004. Legend supports the IT environment for the practice software Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental and Archy, and for the imaging systems DEXIS, Vatech, Carestream, Planmeca/Romexis and Dolphin Imaging. The dental servers and workstations page sets out how computers are specified for each room. Hardware procurement, major cabling projects and software licensing are quoted separately, so a computer order shows what each room costs before anything is bought. Onsite dispatch is by appointment across served dental markets, support is remote-first nationwide, and 24/7 monitoring continues after go-live. For a practice that needs ongoing dental IT support or managed IT services for dental practices after the refresh, those pages set out how ongoing support works.
The author, Ian Lynch, has 22 years in dental IT and oversees the NOC, onsite dispatch and client technology roadmaps. Legend holds a 4.8 rating from 173 Google reviews. For an example of the ground this covers, see a recent technology installation covering computers, networking, dental software and imaging integrations. To see where onsite visits are available, start from dental IT in your city. The wider stack a practice runs, room by room, is mapped in our dental office technology plan.
Frequently asked questions
What computers do dental offices use?
Most dental offices run business-class Windows desktops: small form factor or mini PCs in operatories and at the front desk, a tower with a dedicated graphics card for CBCT or 3D imaging, and a separate server for the practice database and images. Business lines such as Dell OptiPlex, HP EliteDesk or ProDesk and Lenovo ThinkCentre are common because they offer multi-year on-site warranties and consistent models for identical operatory builds.
Is a refurbished computer OK for a dental office?
For admin roles, yes, if the unit passes three checks: a processor generation at or above your practice software's named minimum (Dentrix names a 9th-generation i5, Eaglesoft an 8th), TPM 2.0 with UEFI Secure Boot for Windows 11, and a Windows 11 Pro licence. For the operatory sensor PC, the imaging workstation and the server, buy new: the warranty is longer and the generation test rarely passes.
How much RAM does a dental office computer need?
Buy 16 GB for every desktop. Dentrix recommends 16 GB and sets 8 GB as its minimum; Eaglesoft lists 8 GB; Open Dental recommends 4 to 8 GB. The practice software never runs alone on an operatory PC, so the vendor minimum is the floor, not the target. Imaging workstations follow the imaging vendor: Planmeca lists 16 GB for most 3D units and 32 GB for its largest.
Do dental computers need Windows 11 Pro, or is Home enough?
Order Pro. Eaglesoft is not supported on any Windows Home edition. Dentrix allows Home but states that it blocks domain installations and limits your security options. Open Dental calls Home editions sometimes unacceptable because of connection limits. Microsoft lists BitLocker enablement for Pro, Enterprise and Education editions, so Pro is also what lets your IT provider encrypt the drive and give each team member a personal sign-in.
Can I use a laptop or a tablet in the operatory?
A laptop running full Windows 11 Pro that meets the spec is a workstation to Dentrix, Eaglesoft and Open Dental, docked to wired Ethernet in the room. Tablets are narrower: Eaglesoft supports them only for Fast Check-In and says taking images from a Surface Pro is not supported, while Open Dental allows tablets running full Windows. Dentrix does not support thin-client or Terminal Services setups at all.
Is a dental workstation the same thing as a dental computer?
Not always. In equipment catalogs a dental workstation is the operatory cabinet or delivery unit that holds the handpieces and often the monitor mount. In IT documents, including Dentrix's and Eaglesoft's, a workstation is the computer running the practice software at a chair or desk. When a quote says workstation, check which it means, and make sure the cabinet leaves room, power and a network drop for the computer.
How often should dental office computers be replaced?
Plan five years for a business-class desktop bought at or above the vendor minimums, and replace by role rather than everything at once. The trigger is usually a vendor document that raises its processor minimum, a Windows version leaving support (Windows 10 did on 14 October 2025; Windows 11 24H2 did on 13 October 2026), or an imaging upgrade that needs a graphics card the machine cannot take.
Can I buy the computers myself and have IT set them up?
Yes, and many owners do. Agree the spec per room with your IT provider first, including the exact processor model, 16 GB, an SSD, Windows 11 Pro and the USB count for operatories, then buy to that list from the manufacturer or a business reseller. The staging work stays the same either way: firmware, Windows version, domain join, encryption, drivers, imaging bridge and a real sensor test in each operatory.
Do operatory computers need a graphics card?
Not for 2D radiographs and intraoral camera images; integrated graphics on a current-generation processor handle those and the practice software. A dedicated card is needed where the imaging vendor requires one: Planmeca lists a dedicated NVIDIA or AMD GPU for 3D clients, a 4 GB NVIDIA GPU for Romexis Smart and a 12 GB RTX card for CAD/CAM work. Spend the graphics budget on the imaging PC.
Does a Mac work in a dental office?
It depends on the software. Dentrix and Eaglesoft publish Windows requirements only. Open Dental lists Windows versions as its supported systems and allows Linux or macOS only as an alternative for the server. Planmeca lists macOS Sequoia and Tahoe alongside Windows 11 Pro for Romexis clients. Many sensor and camera drivers are Windows-only, so operatory and front-desk machines are usually Windows PCs even where the owner uses a Mac.
What should happen to the old computers?
Every drive leaves the practice erased or physically destroyed, with a record of which machine, which drive and what method, because each one held patient data. Working machines that pass the three-check test can be kept as spares for same-day swaps. Anything older than the processor generation your practice software names goes to a recycler after the wipe, not to a staff member's home or a marketplace listing.
The bottom line
If a quote is on your desk and the rooms, models and Windows editions on it are not clear, ask for a Free Dental IT Assessment: a review of your computers, software, network security, backups and performance, with written findings and prioritized recommendations, so the order is built from an inventory of what each room runs. When you are ready to spec the machines themselves, start with our dental servers and workstations page, where hardware is quoted separately from support.

