Dental Cone Beam CT (CBCT) Computer and Network Requirements in 2026
"I have a small office with 6 total workstations, 4 of which are 3d capable, plus a panoramic/cbct acquisition computer and rendering tower." An owner posted that in January 2026, beside an IT quote he called outrageous. It lists what a cone beam scanner adds to a network.
The scanner adds a computer nobody budgeted for, turns ordinary operatory PCs into "3D capable" ones and fills a server. This guide puts the computer, server and network requirements that Planmeca, Carestream Dental, DEXIS (DTX Studio), Vatech and Henry Schein One publish for their own software side by side, as read on 6 November 2026, and then does the arithmetic the sheets leave to you: how big a volume is, how fast the disk fills, how long a scan takes to cross the network, and which of three companies to call when something stops. It is written for the owner who has signed, or is about to sign, for a CBCT unit.
A dental cone beam computed tomography system needs an acquisition PC built to the scanner maker's sheet, 3D viewing workstations with a dedicated graphics card and 16 GB or more of RAM, a server with mirrored terabyte storage, a wired gigabit network, a UPS, and a backup that includes the volume folder.
- A CBCT system is four computer roles: the acquisition PC built to the scanner maker's sheet, 3D viewing workstations, the image server and the export PC.
- The graphics card decides the viewing PC: Vatech rules out AMD, Intel and integrated GPUs; Carestream asks for 1 to 6 GB dedicated; DTX for 2 GB; a 6 GB NVIDIA card clears every sheet.
- Planmeca scales workstation RAM to the scanner, from 8 GB for small ProMax 3D units to 32 GB for Viso G5 and G7; plan 16 GB chairside and 32 GB on the planning PC.
- Vendors ask for wired gigabit end to end, imaging devices on the same subnet, server data on internal mirrored disks (not a NAS), a UPS on the console and server, and a backup that is your responsibility.
- Two volumes a day add roughly 125 GB to 500 GB a year depending on field of view, so size the mirrored data disks for ten years and prove the volume folder restores.
In this guide
- What does a dental cone beam computed tomography scanner produce, and why does IT care?
- Which computers does a CBCT system need?
- What are the CBCT workstation requirements by vendor in 2026?
- What does a CBCT server need?
- How much storage does CBCT imaging need, and how fast does it grow?
- What network does a CBCT need?
- What power and room preparation does a CBCT need?
- How does the CBCT connect to your practice software and imaging suite?
- The IT side: who owns what around a CBCT
- What to verify before you sign the scanner contract
- What to ask your IT provider about your CBCT
- How Legend Networking can help
- Frequently asked questions
- The bottom line
What does a dental cone beam computed tomography scanner produce, and why does IT care?
A cone beam scanner rotates once around the patient and captures several hundred projection images, which the acquisition computer reconstructs into a three-dimensional volume of voxels. That volume is tens or hundreds of times larger than a 2D radiograph, only a specified PC can reconstruct it, and every computer that opens it needs graphics hardware a front-desk PC lacks.
The American Dental Association describes the technology plainly: the scanner "rotates around the patient's head producing up to 600 images, which are assembled or reconstructed by scanning software," and, where a 2D image is made of pixels, "CBCT creates a 3-D image comprised of voxels." Three consequences follow for the office network.
First, size. Planmeca's requirement page gives the only vendor-published range we found: "a rough estimate is in the order of 9 MB per 2D image, depending on type of image, and between 50 MB to 1 GB per 3D image depending on the volume size and resolution." DTX Studio Clinic's requirement sheet puts "a typical 3D patient dataset" at "about 250 MB" against "about 10 MB" for 2D. One cone beam volume is therefore worth somewhere between five and a hundred bitewings on your disk.
Second, the size is set by two choices the clinician makes on the console: the field of view and the voxel size. A Vatech Green X offers fields from 18 x 15 cm down to a 4 x 4 cm endo mode with a "50 micron voxel size". The table below is simple arithmetic (a box approximation at 16 bits per voxel, uncompressed; computed on 6 November 2026), not a vendor figure, and it explains why a tiny endo scan can be the biggest file in the practice.
| Field of view | Voxel size | Voxels | Raw volume, approx. |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8 x 8 cm (single arch) | 0.3 mm | about 19 million | about 38 MB |
| 8 x 8 cm | 0.2 mm | 64 million | about 128 MB |
| 5 x 5 cm (localized) | 0.1 mm | 125 million | about 250 MB |
| 16 x 9 cm (both arches) | 0.3 mm | 85 million | about 171 MB |
| 18 x 15 cm (full maxillofacial) | 0.3 mm | 180 million | about 360 MB |
| 18 x 15 cm | 0.2 mm | 608 million | about 1.2 GB |
| 4 x 4 cm endo mode | 0.05 mm | 512 million | about 1 GB |
Vendors compress and store volumes differently, so the real file on disk may be smaller than the raw figure, which is why Planmeca's "50 MB to 1 GB" range is the number to plan with and the table is the explanation of where in that range your office will land.
Third, the volume has to be reconstructed, rendered and moved. Reconstruction happens on the acquisition PC the manufacturer specifies. Rendering happens on every PC that opens the volume, which is why the vendors' viewing requirements all name a graphics card. Moving happens over the network, from the acquisition PC to the server and from the server to the operatory, and a 250 MB file on a slow run is a doctor waiting. Everything else in this guide follows from those three facts.
Which computers does a CBCT system need?
A cone beam system is four computer roles, and in a small office two may share a box: the acquisition PC that drives the scanner and reconstructs the volume, the viewing workstations that render it chairside, the server that stores volumes and runs the imaging database, and the PC or portal that exports cases to referrers and labs.
| Role | What it does | Who specifies it | What it must have | What goes wrong when it is under-built |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acquisition (console) PC | Controls the scanner, receives the projections, reconstructs the volume, writes it to the image store | The scanner manufacturer or dealer, in the site-preparation and PC-requirements sheet that comes with the unit | Exactly the manufacturer's listed CPU, RAM, GPU, Windows edition and ports; a wired gigabit drop; a UPS outlet | Failed or slow reconstructions; the dealer declines support because the PC is off-sheet; the scanner sits idle while a PC is re-bought |
| 3D viewing workstation | Opens volumes in the viewer (Romexis, CS 3D Imaging, DTX Studio Clinic, Ez3D-i, Invivo and others) in operatories and consult rooms | The imaging software vendor's requirement sheet (quoted in the next section) | A dedicated graphics card with its own video memory, 16 GB RAM for most 3D units, a Pro edition of Windows 11 or a supported macOS, Full HD display | Gray or blank renders, crashes on large volumes, minutes to open a case, a vendor that asks you to upgrade before it will troubleshoot |
| Image server | Runs the imaging database and holds every volume; some products also run a storage service on it (DTX Studio Core, Romexis server) | The imaging software vendor's server row, plus your practice management software's server row if they share | 16 GB RAM or more, mirrored terabyte disks, a server edition of Windows where the vendor says so, gigabit wired, UPS, a tested backup that includes the volume path | Disk full mid-day, Pro-edition connection limits as the office grows, volumes missing from the backup |
| Export and referral PC | Burns discs, writes DICOM to a portal, sends cases to labs and specialists | The practice, with IT | Enough local disk for exports, the vendor's export tool, a documented portal | Volumes emailed as attachments, patient data on unencrypted USB sticks |
In a two- or three-operatory office the acquisition PC often doubles as the first viewing station, and the image server is the same machine as the practice management server. Both are workable when sized for both jobs, and both are where the under-building happens. The sending side of the last row is covered in our guide to how to send a CBCT scan to a referring office, and the room-by-room drops for a surgical office, including the CBCT and pano room, are in our oral surgery office network guide.
What are the CBCT workstation requirements by vendor in 2026?
The viewing software, not the scanner, sets the workstation spec, and the sheets below agree on the shape: a current Core i5 or i7 class processor, 8 GB of RAM at minimum, a dedicated graphics card, a Full HD display and a Pro edition of Windows. They disagree on the graphics card, the row that decides most purchases.
| Requirement | Planmeca Romexis (3D client) | Carestream CS 3D Imaging (standard / premium) | DTX Studio Clinic 4.7 (recommended, 2D and 3D) | Vatech Ez3D-i (viewing computer) | Dentrix 2026 workstation (for comparison) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core i5 6th gen or equivalent (i7 desktop recommended); Apple Silicon | Core i5 or equivalent / Core i5 12th gen or above | 2.8 GHz quad-core (Core i5 or i7) | Intel i7 2.6 GHz or higher | 4+ cores at 2.4 GHz; i5 9400 or Ryzen 2600 |
| RAM | 8 GB for ProMax 3D s and Classic; 16 GB for ProMax 3D Plus, Mid, Max, Viso G1 and G3; 32 GB for Viso G5 and G7 | 8 GB; 16 GB if using MAR (metal artifact reduction) | Minimum 8 GB for a dedicated installation; more if other programs run | 8 GB or higher | 8 GB minimum, 16 GB recommended |
| Graphics | NVIDIA or AMD dedicated GPU, or Intel UHD 630 or better; 4 GB NVIDIA GPU required for Romexis Smart | Dedicated card with 1 GB (standard) / 6 GB (premium), OpenGL 3.2 | Dedicated card with 2 GB VRAM or more; 4 GB for 4K displays; OpenGL 3.3 | Quadro RTX 4000, GTX 1660, RTX 2060 or equivalent with 6 GB or more; AMD, Intel and integrated GPUs not supported | Not specified |
| Disk | 120 GB | 5 GB free on the system disk | 10 GB for installation plus data | 512 GB (7,500 RPM SATA or above, as published) | 20 GB free on SSD or NVMe |
| Display | Full HD 1920 x 1080 | Full HD or higher; not designed for touchscreens | Full HD or higher; no display scaling below that | Not specified | 1280 x 1024 |
| Operating system | Windows 11 Pro 64-bit; macOS Sequoia or Tahoe | Windows 11 64-bit; Windows Server 2016, 2019, 2022 | Windows 11 or 10 64-bit Pro or Enterprise; macOS Ventura, Sonoma, Sequoia | Windows 10 Professional or higher, 64-bit | Windows 10 and 11, 64-bit |
| Network | No local network figure published; 100 Mbps or better internet recommended for 3D in Romexis Image Cloud | 1000BaseT (1 Gb/s) | Local gigabit network recommended with DTX Studio Core; 3 Mbps up, 30 Mbps down internet | Not specified | 1 Gbps |
| Sheet date | Undated page, read 6 Nov 2026 | Ed04, December 2025 | GMT 96982, 11 August 2025 | Undated page, read 6 Nov 2026 | April 2026 |
Read down the Dentrix column last: it is the spec of an ordinary practice management workstation, and the only row where it matches a 3D viewer is the processor. The difference between a front-desk PC and a cone beam PC is the graphics card, the RAM and, for Vatech, the disk.
Which graphics card does CBCT software need?
Every 3D viewer above renders the volume on the graphics processor, and each vendor states its floor differently: Carestream asks for a dedicated card with 1 GB (6 GB for its premium tools), DTX for 2 GB (4 GB on 4K monitors), Vatech for a 6 GB NVIDIA card and nothing from AMD or Intel, and Planmeca accepts Intel UHD 630 graphics for basic 3D but requires a 4 GB NVIDIA card for Romexis Smart.
The practical reading is that a business desktop with integrated graphics passes Planmeca's basic row and fails everyone else's. Vatech's note is the strictest, "ATI/AMD Graphics, Intel and integrated GPU not supported", and Carestream's 2023 sheet said the same for its implant-planning module, "AMD and Intel graphics chips are not supported." If one office runs two viewers, which is common after a practice acquisition or a scanner change, buy to the strictest sheet. A 6 GB or larger NVIDIA card clears every row in the table.
Two things the sheets do not say but the service calls do. A PC with both integrated and dedicated graphics can run the viewer on the wrong one, which is one common cause of a gray or washed-out render; the fix then is a Windows graphics setting, not a new PC, and the Osteoid documentation covered in our Invivo dental software requirements guide walks through it. And laptops bought "for the CBCT" rarely meet the GPU row unless they were specified as mobile workstations with a dedicated graphics card, so check the card on the quote before the model name.
How much RAM does a CBCT workstation need, and why does the scanner matter?
Planmeca is the one vendor that ties workstation memory to the scanner model, and its table is the clearest guide to how RAM scales: 8 GB for its smallest ProMax 3D units, 16 GB for the mid-size ProMax 3D Plus, Mid and Max and the Viso G1 and G3, and 32 GB for the large-field Viso G5 and G7. Larger fields and finer voxels mean bigger volumes held in memory.
Carestream adds a different trigger: "RAM: 8 GB (16 GB if using MAR)", where MAR is the metal artifact reduction most implant offices turn on. DTX and Vatech publish 8 GB floors with the note that other programs on the same PC need their own share. Planmeca's footnotes are the ones to budget by if the doctor plans: "20 GB RAM recommended for workstations using the Implant Guide and/or Superimpose features. 32 GB RAM recommended for Surgery Module features."
Our rule for a quote: 16 GB on any operatory PC that will open a volume, 32 GB on the PC where the doctor plans implants or runs surgery modules, and never 8 GB on a shared machine that also runs the practice management software, a browser and a patient-education program. Memory is the cheapest line on the quote and the one that stops the "bad allocation" and "out of memory" messages.
Windows 11, macOS and the dates that decide the purchase
Every current sheet lists Windows 11 64-bit, and most specify the Pro edition: Planmeca "Windows 11 Pro (64 bit)", DTX "Pro and Enterprise edition", Vatech "Windows 10 Professional or Higher", Carestream "Professional version of Windows is highly recommended." Home edition cannot join a domain, which Henry Schein One's own sheet notes "limits your network security options."
Three Microsoft dates matter for a scanner bought in 2026. Windows 10 support ended on 14 October 2025, and Henry Schein One adds that "After June 30, 2026, Henry Schein One will no longer support installing Dentrix on Windows 10", so a Windows 10 acquisition PC inherited with a used scanner is already outside both vendors' comfort. Windows 11 version 24H2 reached end of servicing on 13 October 2026, and 25H2 reaches it on 12 October 2027 (Microsoft's lifecycle page shows Pacific time; these are the US calendar dates), so a new PC should ship on 25H2 or later. And Windows 11 itself requires TPM 2.0 and a DirectX 12 graphics card, which rules out older towers being repurposed as viewing stations. The office-wide move is covered in our guide to Windows 10 end of life for dental practices.
On Mac: Planmeca Romexis and DTX Studio Clinic publish macOS requirements (Apple Silicon for Planmeca; Intel or Apple Silicon M1 and later for DTX, with volume-rendering restrictions on some MacBook Air and Mac mini graphics). Carestream CS 3D Imaging and Vatech Ez3D-i list Windows only. A Mac-based office should confirm the viewer before the scanner.
What does a CBCT server need?
The image server holds every volume the practice takes and runs the imaging database, so vendors specify it separately: Planmeca asks for 16 GB and two mirrored 1 TB disks for 3D; DTX Studio Core asks for 16 to 32 GB, a server edition of Windows, internal drives only and a UPS. Both put the backup on you.
| Requirement | Planmeca Romexis server (3D) | DTX Studio Core 4.0 (recommended: 2D/3D, up to 40 clients) | Dentrix 2026 server (for comparison) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core i3 6th gen or equivalent; Apple Silicon | 3.0 GHz 4-core or 2.0 GHz 8-core | 4+ cores at 2.4 GHz; i7 9700 or Ryzen 2700 |
| RAM | 16 GB; more "working simultaneously with large volumes" or with several users | 16 GB; 32 GB or more if other applications run on the same computer | 16 GB; more above 10 workstations |
| Disk | 2 x 1 TB, RAID 1 mirroring recommended | Internal drives only; 100 GB or more for data, depending on need | 60 GB free on SSD or NVMe; about 40 GB estimated for images and documents |
| Operating system | Windows Server 2025 64-bit, Windows 11 Pro 64-bit, or macOS Sequoia/Tahoe | Windows Server 2022, 2019 or 2016; Windows 11/10 Pro and Enterprise only for small setups | Windows Server 2016, 2019, 2022, 2025 (not Essentials) |
| Database | MS SQL Server 2012 SP4 to 2022; SQL Server 2022 Express delivered; Firebird on macOS | Built-in; Microsoft SQL Server deployment supported in larger managed environments | Dentrix database |
| Network | No local network figure published | 1 Gbps wired Ethernet; imaging devices on the same subnet; IPv4 only | 1 Gbps |
| Power and backup | Backup medium "DAT or equivalent"; "Planmeca claims no responsibility for the end users' data security, backups" | "A UPS (uninterruptible power supply) is recommended"; "Backup of user-created data is solely the responsibility of the user" | Not specified on the sheet |
| Virtualization and thin clients | Not addressed | On-premise virtual servers supported if sized to the sheet | Terminal Services and Citrix "currently not supported" |
Two rules in the DTX sheet are worth quoting because they are the ones an office breaks by accident. On storage: "DTX Studio Core data and media files (images) must be stored on internal drives in the computer where DTX Studio Core is installed. Do not store DTX Studio Core data and media files on external drives, remote computers or NAS devices." On Windows edition: "Windows 10/11 Pro and Enterprise editions have an internal limitation on the number of concurrent connections. These editions should only be used in small setups. Windows Server editions are optimized for background applications and are strongly recommended for all installations." A six-operatory office that installed its imaging service on a Windows 11 Pro box will hit that connection ceiling the day a seventh PC opens a volume.
Can the CBCT share the practice management server?
Usually yes in a one-location practice, if the box is sized for both jobs and the vendors' rows are read together. Planmeca says so directly: "It is recommended to use the same server computer as an application server and database server. If Planmeca Romexis server computer is also used for client activities, the hardware should meet both client and server specifications." Add the practice management vendor's own server row (Dentrix: 16 GB, 60 GB free on SSD, 1 Gbps) to the imaging server row, and the combined machine wants 32 GB of RAM, a fast system disk for the databases and a separate mirrored data volume for images that will grow for a decade.
The case for a separate image server is size and risk rather than rules: a 1 TB mirror fills in two to eight years at the storage rates in the next section, and a reboot of the practice management server for a Windows update takes the imaging down with it. Groups with more than one location, or a single office that takes several volumes a day, usually separate them. Which path fits your office, and what the move looks like, is the subject of our guide to dental server replacement versus cloud migration; the hardware itself is what dental servers and workstations covers.
One more point from the buyer's forum post that opened this guide: the owner's server was "running Windows server 2016". Mainstream support for that edition is over and Henry Schein One's sheet notes extended support ends on 12 January 2027; our guide to Windows Server 2016 end of support for dental offices covers the options. A new scanner is usually the moment that server gets replaced.
How much storage does CBCT imaging need, and how fast does it grow?
Storage for a cone beam scanner is a growth problem, not a size problem: on the vendors' own per-volume figures, two scans a working day add 125 GB a year at 250 MB each and 500 GB a year at 1 GB each, so a mirrored 1 TB disk fills in two to eight years depending on field of view.
The table applies Planmeca's and DTX's published per-volume figures (50 MB to 1 GB; about 250 MB typical) over 250 working days a year. It is arithmetic, computed on 6 November 2026, so redo it with your own scan count.
| Volumes per day | Size per volume | Added per year | After 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 250 MB | about 62 GB | about 0.3 TB |
| 2 | 250 MB | about 125 GB | about 0.6 TB |
| 4 | 250 MB | about 250 GB | about 1.2 TB |
| 2 | 500 MB | about 250 GB | about 1.2 TB |
| 4 | 500 MB | about 500 GB | about 2.5 TB |
| 8 | 500 MB | about 1 TB | about 5 TB |
| 2 | 1 GB | about 500 GB | about 2.5 TB |
| 8 | 1 GB | about 2 TB | about 10 TB |
Four planning rules follow:
- Size the mirror for ten years, not for delivery day. Planmeca's "2 x 1 TB (RAID1 mirroring) recommended" is a floor for a general practice taking a volume or two a day. An oral surgery, endodontic or implant-heavy office at four to eight volumes a day should start at 2 x 4 TB and plan the next expansion before the disk reaches 80 percent.
- A mirror is not a backup. RAID 1 survives one dead disk; it copies a deleted or encrypted folder faithfully to both. Planmeca's sheet disclaims responsibility for backups and DTX's says backup "is solely the responsibility of the user." The backup must include the volume path (the folder where the acquisition PC writes reconstructions, which is not always the practice management image folder) and must be restored once to prove it. The volume-path audit for an endo office is in our guide to endo operatory imaging and CBCT backup; what a backup for a dental office should cover is in dental data backup; and what to do the morning a volume is missing is in our guide to restoring a deleted patient file or X-ray.
- Keep the acquisition PC's local copy in view. Many consoles write the volume locally first and copy it to the server. If the copy step fails silently, the local disk fills and the "missing" scans are on a PC nobody backs up. Ask where the console writes and whether that folder is in the backup set.
- Retention is a records question, not a disk question. How long diagnostic images must be kept is set by your state's rules and your malpractice carrier, and this guide does not interpret them. Plan storage so that deleting old volumes is never the way you make room.
What network does a CBCT need?
Every imaging vendor that publishes a network row asks for wired gigabit Ethernet: Carestream "1000 BaseT network bandwidth (1Gb/s)", DTX Studio Core "1 Gbps wired Ethernet", and the Dentrix sheet "1 Gbps" for servers and workstations alike. Nobody lists Wi-Fi for the acquisition PC, and Henry Schein One says wireless is "at your own risk" near X-ray machines.
The reason is the file size from the first section. The table shows the theoretical time to move one volume at common link speeds, with no protocol overhead (so real transfers are slower); computed on 6 November 2026.
| Volume size | 100 Mbps link | 1 Gbps link | 2.5 Gbps link | 10 Gbps link |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 50 MB | 4 s | 0.4 s | 0.2 s | under 0.1 s |
| 250 MB (DTX typical) | 20 s | 2 s | 0.8 s | 0.2 s |
| 500 MB | 40 s | 4 s | 1.6 s | 0.4 s |
| 1 GB (Planmeca upper range) | 80 s | 8 s | 3.2 s | 0.8 s |
A single old 100 Mbps switch port, a damaged patch cable that negotiates down to 100 Mbps, or a network card with power management left on (the Dentrix sheet asks you to "disable the Power Management options on the network interface cards") turns a two-second open into a twenty-second one, and the doctor blames the software. The office-wide design, drop counts and switch choices are in our guide to dental office network setup; the CBCT-specific rules are below.
- Wired gigabit to the acquisition PC, the server and every 3D viewing station. Where the server and the acquisition PC share a switch, a 2.5 or 10 Gbps uplink between them is cheap insurance for an office taking several volumes a day, though no vendor requires it.
- Same subnet. DTX Studio Core states that "Ethernet-connected imaging devices must be connected to the same local network (subnet) where DTX Studio Core is installed. Only IPv4 addresses are supported." If your IT provider has segmented the network, the scanner, its console and the imaging server belong on the same clinical segment, and the firewall rules between segments must be written before delivery day.
- The scanner's own network port. Many cone beam units are Ethernet devices in their own right, with the console PC talking to them over the network or a direct cable. The site-preparation document says which; count the drop either way.
- Fixed addressing. Give the scanner, the console and the server reserved addresses so a router replacement does not orphan the unit.
Can the CBCT acquisition computer be on Wi-Fi?
No vendor we read lists wireless for the acquisition PC, and the one practice management vendor that addresses it warns against it. The Dentrix sheet reads: "Wireless networks are to be used at your own risk due to potential interference from X-ray machines and other devices. Wireless networks require professional installation to ensure appropriate security and to provide a reliable signal."
Put the acquisition PC and the image server on cable, always. Operatory PCs that only review volumes can tolerate Wi-Fi in principle, but the transfer table shows what a 250 MB volume costs on a congested access point, and a dropped connection mid-open corrupts the viewer's cache rather than the volume. If the operatories are wireless because the walls are closed, our guide to why dental office Wi-Fi keeps dropping explains the fixes; the long-term answer is drops.
What internet connection does CBCT software depend on?
Local volumes do not need the internet to open, but the software increasingly does. DTX Studio Clinic's sheet asks for "Broadband Internet connection with 3Mbps upload and 30 Mbps download speed" and warns that "a connection should be established at least once every 14 days, because otherwise your access to DTX Studio Clinic may be temporarily suspended." Carestream's premium tier is "recommended to be always connected to the Internet, and at least once every 7 days." Planmeca's Image Cloud wants "100 Mbps or better" for 3D images.
For the office that means three things: the imaging PCs must be allowed through the firewall and web filter to the vendor's licensing and cloud services (ask IT to allow-list them before install day); a long internet outage can suspend a viewer even though the volumes are local; and a cloud imaging archive turns your upload speed into a clinical dependency, which is why the vendor publishes a number. Cloud practice management software does not change the acquisition side at all: the console still writes the volume to a local disk first, and the owner on the forum asking about the "ability to import CBCT images" into a cloud system was asking the right question. Our comparison of dental imaging software from the IT side covers which archives are cloud, local or synced.
What power and room preparation does a CBCT need?
The scanner manufacturer's site-preparation document, not the IT provider, governs the room: electrical supply, floor loading, shielding sign-off with your state radiation program, the unit's footprint and the position of the console. The IT contribution is a UPS on the console and server, wired drops in the right place, and a written list of what the document asks for.
DTX Studio Core's sheet is explicit on power: "A UPS (uninterruptible power supply) is recommended to prevent data corruption or loss in the event of a power failure." A reconstruction interrupted by a power flicker can mean a retake, and a retake is a second exposure for the patient, so the console PC and the image server each get a UPS outlet; the scanner's own power requirements come from its manufacturer and are not covered here. One owner on a systems forum summed up the realistic goal for a small dental office: "Traditional rackmount UPS gives us maybe 30 minutes." That is enough to finish a reconstruction, let the copy to the server complete and shut down cleanly, which is all a UPS has to do.
Before the walls close, hand your IT provider the manufacturer's site-prep document and ask for a one-page response that covers:
- the network drop (or drops) at the console position and at the scanner itself, wired to the clinical switch;
- the console PC's placement so that the operator can see the patient and the screen, with the cable lengths the manufacturer allows;
- the UPS model and runtime for the console and the server;
- which network segment the scanner and console join and what firewall rules the vendor's remote support and licensing need;
- where the volume folder lives and how it is backed up on the first night.
Our guide to dental office network setup has the drop worksheet; for a surgical practice the CBCT room row is in the oral surgery office network guide.
How does the CBCT connect to your practice software and imaging suite?
A cone beam unit talks to its own acquisition software, which stores the volume in an imaging database or folder; the practice management system then launches that viewer for the open patient through a bridge. Dentrix, Eaglesoft and Open Dental each do this differently, and the bridge, not the scanner, is what breaks after an update.
Open Dental documents the mechanism most openly. Its Program Links window "lists all the program bridges that can be linked from Open Dental", each bridge has a "Path of file to open: The path to the program's executable (exe) on the computer or network" and "Optional command line arguments", and the manual adds a line worth repeating to every office: "We recommend having a Business Associate Agreement (BAA) in place with a third-party before enabling" a bridge. The same manual's imaging-device page notes that for sensor capture "Only 32-bit TWAIN drivers are supported", which is a sensor rule rather than a CBCT rule, but it explains why the acquisition PC should run only what the scanner maker lists.
For the IT provider the setup has four parts, and all four should be written down before install day:
- Where the volume lands. The acquisition software's storage path (local disk, the server share, or a storage service such as DTX Studio Core or the Romexis server) and the account that writes to it.
- How each operatory opens it. The viewer's install on every 3D workstation, pointed at the same database or share, and the practice management bridge that launches it with the patient ID.
- DICOM export. Where the console or viewer writes DICOM for referrals, labs and planning programs, and which program imports it. Planning software is a separate purchase with its own PC sheet, covered in our guide to implant planning software computer requirements.
- Who may change what. Windows updates, viewer updates and driver updates on the acquisition PC follow the manufacturer's statement, not Patch Tuesday. An IT provider that serves only dental offices put it bluntly on an MSP forum about imaging hardware: "Don't update .net, twain, drivers for the first 3 months."
When the bridge does break, the symptom is a viewer that opens the wrong patient or no patient, or a volume that exists on the server but not in the chart. The triage for that is in our guide to dental imaging integration troubleshooting, and the sensor-after-update version of it is in dental sensor not working after a Windows update.
The IT side: who owns what around a CBCT
Three companies touch a cone beam system, and an office that does not know the split loses days to being passed between them: the scanner manufacturer or dealer owns the unit and the console, the imaging software vendor owns the viewer and its database, and the IT provider owns the computers, Windows, network, storage and backup under all of it.
| Problem | Scanner maker or dealer | Imaging software vendor | Your IT provider |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scanner will not initialize or communicate with the console | Yes | — | Checks the cable, port, address and firewall first |
| Reconstruction fails or is slow | Yes, if the console meets their sheet | — | Confirms the console meets the sheet; disk space; local copy step |
| Volume opens slowly in an operatory | — | Yes, if the PC meets their sheet | Gigabit path, switch port speed, NIC power management, server disk |
| Gray, blank or crashing 3D render | — | Diagnoses against the GPU row | Graphics setting, driver, RAM, or a card that meets the strictest sheet |
| Viewer suspended or "licence" error | — | Yes | Firewall and web-filter allow-list; clock; internet |
| Volume missing from the chart but present on disk | — | Bridge settings | Share permissions, path, bridge executable path |
| Volume missing from disk | Console retention | Database integrity | Backup restore; the local-copy folder |
| Disk full on the server | — | — | Expansion plan from the storage table |
| Windows update broke capture | Statement on supported versions | Supported version list | Patch policy and rollback on the acquisition PC |
| New operatory wants 3D | — | Licence count | PC to the strictest sheet, drop, viewer install, bridge |
Two of the vendor sheets place the local side with your IT provider in their own words: DTX tells you to "Contact your IT provider regarding the selection of a suitable backup system", and Planmeca recommends "industry standard firewall and virus protection" on both client and server without specifying either. A provider that supports the imaging platforms a dental office runs should take every row in the right-hand column without asking you to call the dealer first; that is what dental practice management software support means in practice, and the monthly arrangement behind it is what offices buy as managed IT services for dental practices.
What to verify before you sign the scanner contract
The quote that opened this guide bundled a server, a recovery appliance, a battery backup, a panoramic workstation and labor into one number. The commenter's advice was right: ask for a line-item breakdown and compare it. The checklist below is what to have in writing from the dealer and your IT provider before the deposit.
From the scanner dealer
- The console PC requirements sheet with a date and version, and whether the console PC is included in the price or bought separately.
- The site-preparation document: electrical, floor, shielding, footprint, network drop positions, and the console cable lengths.
- Which imaging software the unit ships with, which version, how many viewing licences, and the viewing-PC requirements sheet for that version.
- Whether the unit connects by Ethernet, by a direct cable to the console, or both.
- Who installs and configures the console PC, who supports it afterwards, and what voids that support (Windows updates, antivirus, domain join).
- The DICOM export path and whether exports to planning software or referrers need an extra module.
From your IT provider
- A viewing-PC spec that clears the strictest sheet in the table above, with the graphics card named.
- The server plan: shared or separate, RAM, mirrored data disks sized from the storage table for ten years, the Windows edition the imaging vendor asks for.
- The network plan: drops at the console and scanner, gigabit end to end, the clinical segment and firewall rules, fixed addresses.
- UPS for the console and the server, with runtime.
- The backup set, naming the volume folder and the console's local folder, with a first-restore test on the schedule.
- The allow-list for the vendor's licensing, cloud and remote-support addresses.
- A patch policy for the acquisition PC that follows the manufacturer's statement.
From yourself
- How many volumes a day you expect in year one and year three; the storage and server rows depend on it.
- Which rooms must open a volume on day one, because each is a PC on the strictest sheet.
- Who in the office will own the referral and export process.
What to ask your IT provider about your CBCT
Ask these twelve questions before the scanner arrives and again a year later. They cover the four places a cone beam system fails from the IT side: the computers, the server and storage, the network and power, and the backup and support split, and every answer should come back in writing, not over the phone.
About the computers
- Which of our PCs meet the strictest viewing sheet we run, and which fail on the graphics card or RAM?
- Does the acquisition PC exactly match the manufacturer's sheet, and who may update it?
- Are any of our imaging PCs still on Windows 10, or on a Windows 11 release that is past or near its end of servicing?
About the server and storage
- Is the imaging database on a server edition of Windows or a Pro edition with a connection limit?
- How full is the image volume today, how fast is it growing per month, and when do we expand it?
- Are the volumes on internal mirrored disks, as the imaging vendor requires, or on a NAS or external drive?
About the network and power
- Is every imaging PC and the server on a gigabit wired port, and when did we last check the negotiated speed on each?
- Are the scanner, console and server on the same subnet, with the firewall rules the vendor needs documented?
- Which devices in the CBCT room are on a UPS, and how long does it run?
About backup and support
- Does our backup include the volume folder and the console's local folder, and when did we last restore a volume to prove it?
- Which vendor allow-lists are in the firewall for licensing, cloud and remote support?
- When a volume will not open in an operatory, which of the three companies do we call first, and does your team know the imaging platform?
How Legend Networking can help
Legend Networking is a Dallas-based dental IT company that has served over 3,500 practices since 2004. Legend supports the IT environment for the practice software Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental and Archy, and for the imaging systems DEXIS, Vatech, Carestream, Planmeca/Romexis and Dolphin Imaging. The acquisition PC, viewing workstations, server, network, firewall and backup this guide describes are that environment, whichever scanner sits on top of it.
The author, Ian Lynch, has 22 years in dental IT and oversees the NOC, onsite dispatch and client technology roadmaps. Legend holds a 4.8 rating from 173 Google reviews. You can see the shape of a surgical buildout in a new oral surgery center's technology and network foundation, and find dental software and imaging support in Dallas for onsite work in North Texas.
Frequently asked questions
What computer do you need to run a dental CBCT scanner?
Two kinds. The acquisition PC must match the scanner manufacturer's own sheet exactly, because it reconstructs the volume and the dealer supports only what it lists. Every PC that opens volumes needs the viewing software's sheet: a current Core i5 or i7, 16 GB of RAM in practice, a dedicated graphics card, Full HD and Windows 11 Pro, per the vendor tables above.
Does CBCT software work with integrated graphics?
Mostly no. Vatech's Ez3D-i sheet says AMD, Intel and integrated GPUs are not supported; Carestream asks for a dedicated card with 1 GB (6 GB premium); DTX Studio Clinic wants a dedicated card with 2 GB of video memory for 3D. Planmeca accepts Intel UHD 630 for basic 3D but requires a 4 GB NVIDIA card for Romexis Smart. Buy to the strictest sheet you run.
How much RAM should a CBCT viewing workstation have?
Vendors publish 8 GB floors, but Planmeca scales the figure to the scanner: 8 GB for small ProMax 3D units, 16 GB for mid-size ProMax and Viso G1/G3, 32 GB for Viso G5/G7, with 20 GB for implant-guide work and 32 GB for surgery modules. Carestream asks for 16 GB when metal artifact reduction is on. Plan 16 GB chairside and 32 GB on the planning PC.
Why do CBCT files get so large?
A volume is a three-dimensional grid of voxels, and its size grows with the cube of the resolution. An 8 x 8 cm field at 0.2 mm is 64 million voxels, about 128 MB; a 4 x 4 cm endo scan at 0.05 mm is 512 million voxels, about 1 GB. Planmeca's range is 50 MB to 1 GB per volume; DTX puts a typical dataset near 250 MB.
Does a CBCT need its own server, or can it share the practice management server?
A single office can share one server if it is sized for both: Planmeca recommends running its application and database on one machine and says the hardware must then meet both sets of requirements. Add the practice software's server row, plan 32 GB of RAM, mirrored data disks sized from your scan count, and a server edition of Windows where the imaging vendor asks for it.
Can a CBCT scanner work with cloud practice management software?
Yes, but the scanner side stays local. The console still reconstructs the volume on a PC in the room and writes it to a local disk or imaging server; the cloud practice system then either launches a local viewer through a bridge or imports volumes into a cloud imaging archive. Check the archive's import path and the upload speed it needs before assuming the server disappears.
Can the CBCT acquisition computer be on Wi-Fi?
No vendor sheet we read lists wireless for the acquisition PC, and Henry Schein One's Dentrix requirements say wireless networks "are to be used at your own risk due to potential interference from X-ray machines and other devices." Cable the console and the image server on gigabit. Operatory PCs that only review volumes can use Wi-Fi, but a 250 MB file on a busy access point is a long wait.
Does CBCT software need an internet connection?
Opening a local volume does not, but the software increasingly checks in. DTX Studio Clinic asks for a 3 Mbps up, 30 Mbps down connection and warns that access may be suspended if the PC has not connected for 14 days; Carestream's premium tier asks for a connection at least every 7 days; Planmeca's cloud archive wants 100 Mbps for 3D. Allow-list the vendor services in the firewall.
Does the CBCT room need a UPS?
The imaging software vendors recommend it. DTX Studio Core's sheet states that a UPS "is recommended to prevent data corruption or loss in the event of a power failure." Put the console PC and the image server on battery with enough runtime to finish a reconstruction, complete the copy to the server and shut down cleanly; the scanner's own electrical requirements come from its manufacturer's site-preparation document.
Can CBCT viewing software run on a Mac?
Some can. Planmeca Romexis lists Apple Silicon Macs on macOS Sequoia and Tahoe, and DTX Studio Clinic 4.7 lists Intel and Apple Silicon Macs on macOS Ventura through Sequoia, with volume-rendering limits on some MacBook Air and Mac mini graphics. Carestream CS 3D Imaging and Vatech Ez3D-i publish Windows requirements only. Confirm the viewer before buying Macs for operatories.
Who fixes a CBCT computer problem: the dealer, the software vendor or IT?
The scanner dealer owns the unit and the console it specified; the imaging software vendor owns the viewer, its database and licences; your IT provider owns the PCs, Windows, network, storage and backup underneath. A slow or gray volume is usually the PC or the network, a missing volume is storage or backup, and a viewer that opens the wrong patient is the bridge. Call IT first for those three.
The bottom line
The best time to find out that the operatory PCs have integrated graphics, the server is a Windows 11 Pro box or the volume folder is not in the backup is before the delivery truck, not the week the first patient is scanned. Ask for a review of your acquisition PC spec, viewing workstations, server, drops and backup against the vendor sheets in this guide through dental practice management software support, and read our comparison of dental imaging software from the IT side before you pick the viewer the scanner will ship with.

